Cookin’ Canuck: Fisherman’s Soup

A few days ago, I found a picture of a very interesting-looking soup (Pinterest Alert!) originally from a website called “Cookin’ Canuck” – hence the title of today’s post. It is run by a lovely lady named Dara. 🙂

Credit: http://www.cookincanuck.com/2012/10/fishermans-soup-recipe-with-tilapia-shrimp-tomatoes-capers/#comment-1082464

I gave this recipe a try last night, and I am telling you, words cannot describe how delectable, how tantalizing this was!

It took very little time, the ingredients weren’t horribly expensive, and the directions are easy to follow. The long and short of it is this: if you like seafood and tomato, this is the soup for you! Please do take a look at Dara’s recipe in the link above.

What I changed:
– Not much. It calls for “firm whitefish” and recommends tilapia. I ended up using salmon because I wasn’t able to find a good, firm chunk of tilapia. Rest assured, although I have not tried the recipe with tilapia, I fully confirm that it is absolutely delicious with salmon. 🙂
– As per usual, I used pre-minced garlic that comes in a jar instead of chopping fresh cloves. Would fresh cloves have tasted better? Probably. Fresh anything is always better.
– It calls for dried oregano. Well, because I had…um…a little help obtaining these ingredients, I realized during preparation that I, in fact, did not have dried oregano. >_< Now, sometimes I can be a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to following a recipe (sometimes! I am not above swapping fish), so I was a little flustered when I realized I didn’t have dried oregano. I ended up using powdered oregano, which obviously turned out fine, since I was raving about the deliciousness of the soup.
– Needless to say, I did not put any chile flakes in this. XD It might not have done much harm, but I prefer to be safe than sorry.
– Last little extra thing I did was throw in a shallot (one I didn’t use with a previous recipe. Yes, the pumpkin one.)

Other than that, I followed the directions down to the last word, and ended up with an extremely satisfying result. 😀

Picture time! It was great fun watching the colors develop as I added more ingredients.

Picture time! It was great fun watching the colors develop as I added more ingredients.

I prefer my carrots chopped into larger bits – though, because I was feeding two other people, I tried not to cut them too large. ^^

With fish and shrimp.

With fish and shrimp.

Now, one thing I ran into was that the soup didn’t seem…well, “soupy” enough. The more ingredients I added, the thicker and more stew-like it was getting. Which isn’t a bad thing, but I like keeping my stew in a crockpot. XD Not sure if the recipe was supposed to end up that way, whether it was my fault and I somehow added more ingredients than I should have, e.t.c. Either way, I ended up using more vegetable broth than the recipe called for, which didn’t ruin it in any way.

Like I mentioned, this doesn’t take as much time to cook as it seems.

I want more just looking at this.

I want more just looking at this.

Last, but certainly not least, I encourage you – no, I implore you – to top it off with a nice slice of rustic bread. We used roasted garlic bread (not actual garlic bread like the kind you eat in Italian restaurants, but bread that is flavored with garlic), and if possible, it just made the whole meal that much tastier. While eating this, I was surprised to find that the bread actually had thin slices of garlic inserted into it. (+50 points! I am a huge garlic-lover.) The best part about this was eating the bread after it had been soaking in the soup. :O I mean, wow. Our bread happened to be very delicious, so I wouldn’t be surprised if the bread choice had a lot to do with it.

All in all, I was way more satisfied with this recipe than I thought I would be. I’m not even a huge fan of tomato in soup, but this was a major exception! I will note, too, that the capers really added that extra touch of flavor that the soup…well, didn’t exactly need, but it sure wouldn’t have been the same without it. You recall that I mentioned really loving capers in my last post? I’m gonna bring the spotlight back on them and insist that you put capers into this soup when you make it! 🙂

This recipe will definitely go under my “Favorites.” Once again, please go take a look at Dara’s recipe and give this soup a try; as always, you will not regret it!

That’s all for now. ^_^

Leave a Reply

